Winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2020 announced

The virtual event was hosted by comedian and presenter Matt Richardson.

The awards celebrate students across six categories for the best audiovisual work created at both undergraduate and postgraduate level including Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Factual, News and Short Form. To reward excellence in craft skills, awards were also presented in the following categories at the judges’ discretion: Camerawork, Editing, Production Design, Sound and Writing.

Winners of the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2020 announced

The awards celebrated talent across 19 categories in total, and this year the BBC led the way with ten wins spanning both news and current affairs, followed by Sky News with five wins overall. The winner of the Outstanding Contribution Award was Christiane Amanpour, who as a global figure in English speaking broadcast journalism has spent over four decades covering major conflicts and campaigning for media freedom and the safety of journalists.

Nominations for the RTS Television Journalism Awards 2020 announced

The BBC leads the way with 28 nominations overall across 17 of the 19 categories, followed by ITV with 10 nominations.

The prestigious awards will be presented at a ceremony hosted by Sky News presenter Anna Botting on the 26th February 2020 at the London Hilton on Park Lane.

The awards, which span both news and current affairs, seek to recognise creative and excellent journalism by organisations whose broadcasts are transmitted on a UK-based platform, or who create online video content from a UK production base.

Winners of the RTS Midlands awards announced

Vicky McClure awarded Best Female Actor at the RTS Midlands Awards 2019

Coventry’s Guz Khan took home the Best Male Actor award for his performance in Tiger Aspect’s BBC Three comedy series Man Like Mobeen and the Best Writer prize, jointly with co-writer Andy Milligan. The two prizes, presented at the late-November ceremony, brought Khan’s tally to five RTS Midlands Awards in just two years.