RTS awards

RTS Scotland Student Awards 2018

RTS Scotland welcomes you to join us in celebrating the finest student television in Scotland across genres of animation, factual, comedy & entertainment, short feature and drama, with students from Edinburgh College of Art, University of Edinburgh, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, University of Stirling, Fife College, North East Scotland College, Glasgow Clyde College, Edinburgh Napier University, Glasgow Caledonian University and The University of the West of Scotland.


This year will mark the fifth anniversary of our awards, and we are very pleased to be celebrating the best from a year in television and congratulating Scotland's burgeoning talent. Our entry numbers have increased and so has the number of awards we present; the awards ceremony has now become a popular industry event and is well established in the television calendar.

The Crown and Sherlock among RTS Craft & Design Awards nominations

The awards recognise the huge variety of skills involved in programme production from editing to lighting, and costume design to digital effects. 

BBC dramas lead the way in nominations. Taboo, which stars Tom Hardy is up for six awards, whilst Broken and Three Girls received four nominations each. 

Three Girls director Philippa Lowthorpe received a nomination in the Director - Drama category alongside Euros Lyn for Damilola, Our Loved Boy and Julian Jarrold for The Witnesses for the Prosecution, all for BBC One. 

RTS winners unite for new Channel 4 crime drama Kiri

Sarah Lancashire RTS Programme Awards 2013-14

Happy Valley actor Sarah Lancashire stars as social worker Miriam who is thrust into the spotlight when a child in her care, Kiri, is abducted and killed after an unsupervised visit to her biological family. The no-nonsense social worker loves and believes in her job, but has a maverick and instinctive approach to dealing with the children she looks after, which draws attention as the media buzz intensifies.

Miriam (Lancashire) and the families at the centre of the storm are forced to ask tough questions, not just of themselves, but of those they love the most.  

RTS Young Technologist 2017

The Award recognises excellence in broadcast technology and is intended to advance education in the science, practice, technology and art of television and its allied fields. As part of the award, Gray receives an all-expenses paid trip to the International Broadcasting Convention (IBC) in Amsterdam.

Gray was chosen to receive the award from among some of the best young engineers and technologists working in the UK today by a panel of experts, chaired by Digital Media Consultant Terry Marsh.

RTS Programme Awards 2017

The awards recognise programmes which have made a positive contribution to their genre through their originality, innovation or supremely high standard, and from which other programme makers can learn and develop. These criteria of originality, creative risk-taking and standard setting quality apply to the performance as well. 

This year sees some significant changes following discussions with judges and entering companies:

Grierson Trust unveils 2016 nominees

Phillip Wood for Chasing Dad: A Lifelong Addiction

The annual awards recognise innovation and quality in documentary films across a number of categories, from student and international productions, to arts to current affairs documentaries.

Many of this year’s shortlisted award nominees have received RTS awards or nominations in the past year.

Among the nominees is RTS Student Awards winner Phillip Wood for Chasing Dad: A Lifelong Addiction. He is nominated in the Best Newcomer Documentary category.

Alex Graham awarded RTS Gold Medal

Alex Graham with John Hardie (Credit: Paul Hampartsoumian)

The award recognises Graham’s distinguished career in programme making and on behalf of programme makers in his former role as CEO of Pact.

Previous recipients of the award include Sir Trevor McDonald, David Liddiment and Coronation Street.

Presenting the award, RTS Chair and Chief Executive of ITN, John Hardie said, “It is my pleasure tonight to award the highest honour of the Society – its Gold Medal. Those who hold it are few – but distinguished.”

Inside No 9 to return for third series

Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton won at this year's RTS Programme Awards (Credit: Richard Kendal)

Reece Shearsmith has announced that a third series of Inside No 9 is in the pipeline. The dark BBC anthology series features self-contained stories which each take place in a location at number 9.  Each episode features a different cast alongside one or both of the writers Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton, the duo who jointly won Best Comedy Performance at this year’s RTS Programme Awards.