Student Awards 2018

RTS Yorkshire Student Awards 2018

Charlotte Thomas from the Northern Film School at Leeds Beckett University took the Animation award with Goodbye, which the judges said was an “exceptionally accomplished piece for a single animator”, employing “a cohesive story with a clever twist and carefully observed character animation”.

Cleveland College of Art and Design students Janice Lee, Jamie Jones, Sarah Maher and Beth Taylor were awarded the Comedy and Entertainment prize for the “inventive” and “hugely professional” Cirque.

RTS East Student Awards 2018

The Norfolk-based production company took the Promotional Film award for RNLI and Finisterre and the Digital Content prize for Norwich Castle Keep.

The awards ceremony was hosted by ITV News Anglia presenter Becky Jago and Stewart White, host of BBC regional news programme Look East.

ITV Anglia enjoyed a successful evening, winning three awards: Sean Cockrell took the Production Craft Skills award; Chloe Keedy won the New Talent On-screen prize; while Sarah Byrd was named Best On-screen Personality.

Norther Ireland Student Television Award winners revealed for 2018

The winners are:  

Ulster University, Belfast for Animation with Hunger by Matt McDyre, Scott Gill, Daniel Boyle, Hannah Loughridge and Hannah Turkington, sponsored by Performance Film and Media Insurance. Ulster University also picked up a highly commended award in this category for To The Moon by Gianni Francesco De Giuseppe, Rhea Hanlon, Phillip McDowell and Ryan Beatty.