RTS East

David Jackson on why he owes everything to TV drama

Winterlong (Credit: Nox Films)

This was just one of the questions put to director David Jackson by RTS East’s Fiona Ryder, following a screening of his impressive debut feature, Winterlong, at the Arts Picturehouse, Cambridge, in late April.

Jackson, who received his first big break from Nicola Shindler at the Red Production Company directing the RTS award-winning series Clocking Off, said he owed everything to TV drama.

RTS Republic of Ireland, RTS Scotland and RTS East appoint new centre chairs

Charles Byrne

He has served on the RoI committee since the centre launched in 1996 and took over from founding Chair Al Lennon in 2000. “Al was the inspiration for the RoI centre and it’s been a great honour to continue his work,” said Byrne.

He is proud that the centre’s Student Television Awards have grown over the past decade: “I’ve been delighted that jury chair Marie Penston and I have been able to build up the awards. For a small centre, we have enjoyed great success at the national awards in London.”

Winners of RTS 2019 East Awards announced

RTS East Awards 2019

BBC East’s The Galaxy Britain Built, which celebrated the behind-the-camera contribution of British film craft to the first Star Wars movie, was named best Factual Programme.

Three BBC East journalists won awards: Richard Westcott took the News and Current Affairs Feature award; Robby West was named best On-screen Journalist; and Jo Thewlis picked up the New Talent On Screen award. Matt Wildash took home the Post-production Craft Skills award.

From TV to Virtual Reality

Rühl was a traditional TV producer until she picked up her first 360-degree camera rig in 2015.

At the RTS event, which was held in collaboration with Cambridge research institute StoryLab, she talked about her short VR film, Keyed Alike, which was produced and written by Rühl, directed by Chloe Thomas (ITV historical drama Victoria) and stars Gemma Whelan (HBO’s Games of Thrones). It is a love story about two women who meet on a London riverside covered in love locks.

RTS East Student Awards 2018

The Norfolk-based production company took the Promotional Film award for RNLI and Finisterre and the Digital Content prize for Norwich Castle Keep.

The awards ceremony was hosted by ITV News Anglia presenter Becky Jago and Stewart White, host of BBC regional news programme Look East.

ITV Anglia enjoyed a successful evening, winning three awards: Sean Cockrell took the Production Craft Skills award; Chloe Keedy won the New Talent On-screen prize; while Sarah Byrd was named Best On-screen Personality.

Mandy Chang on BBC Storyville's open approach to freelancers

Mandy Chang (Credit: RTS/Alessandro Piccato and Andrea Bortolaso)
It was the first event the relaunched RTS East Centre has held in Cambridge and was aimed at the many film-makers, both professional and student, based in the city.
Chang, who left the Australian Broadcasting Corporation to join the BBC last year, explained what made a good Storyville feature-length documentary, showing clips from Last Men in Aleppo, My Mother’s Lost Children and Weiner – Sexts, Scandals and Politics.

Broadcasting bootcamp creates real newsroom experience for young journalists

It was the latest edition of the “Breaking into Broadcasting Bootcamp”; this time held at Norwich University of the Arts, and hosted by Fran Acheson of the BBC Academy alongside RTS East and BBC East in late November.

The students – all from creative and media courses at Norwich universities – were warned that the training session was going to be like a real newsroom experience, with long hours and lunch on the go.

BBC East triumphs at inaugural awards

Some 130 guests attended the ceremony at Norwich University of the Arts, which was hosted by BBC One Look East presenter Stewart White and ITV Anglia Tonight presenter Becky Jago.

Whiteley, who works on the BBC One regional current affairs strand Inside Out East, was named Best On Screen Personality, while the same channel’s Look East – Norwich reporters, Fox and Milner, were the Television Journalist of the Year and Best New Talent, respectively.