Sherlock, Planet Earth II and The Crown among RTS Craft & Design Award winners

Sherlock, Planet Earth II and The Crown among RTS Craft & Design Award winners

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Tuesday, 28th November 2017
Love Island's Iain Stirling hosted the RTS Awards (Credit: Richard Kendal)

The Royal Television Society has announced the winners of the Craft & Design Awards 2017 at a glittering ceremony in central London.

The ceremony, which was hosted by Love Island’s Iain Stirling, saw BBC One drama Taboo and the broadcaster’s World War One Remembered: Passchendaele each pick up three awards.

For their work on Taboo, which starred Tom Hardy, costume designer, Joanna Eatwell, received the prize for Costume Design - Drama; Erika Okvist, Jan Archibald and Audrey Doyle won the Make Up Design - Drama category and the sound team collected the award for Sound - Drama.

World War One Remembered: Passchendaele, which marked the centenary of the Battle of Passchendaele, secured the Judges’ Award, which recognised the incredibly complex and ambitious nature of the BBC live event series, while Nigel Catmur collected the award for Lighting for Multicamera and the sound team the award for Sound - Entertainment & Non Drama.

The BBC’s nature documentary series, Planet Earth II, received the Design & Craft Innovation and Photography - Documentary/Factual & Non Drama gongs. White Gold (BBC Two) and Three Girls (BBC One) also picked-up two prizes each, with Caroline Pitcher receiving the award for Costume Design - Entertainment & Non Drama and Damon Beesley picking up the Director - Comedy Drama/Situation Comedy category for White Gold. Úna Ní Dhonghaíle collected the Editing - Drama prize and Matt Gray BSC received the Photography - Drama & Comedy award for Three Girls.

Netflix was also a winner on the night with The Crown’s digital effects team, One of Us, taking home the Effects - Digital prize and Joel Collins and James Foster securing the win in the Production Design - Drama category for Black Mirror: Nosedive.

Julian Jarrold collected the Director - Drama award for his work on The Witness for the Prosecution (BBC One) and Dan Edge and Lauren Mucciolo won the Director - Documentary/Factual & Non Drama prize for Last Days Of Solitary (BBC Four).

In music, Dru Masters picked-up the Music - Original Score gong for Damilola, Our Loved Boy (BBC One); while the Music - Original Title award went to Martin Phipps for ITV’s royal drama Victoria. Other ITV shows to take home prizes included Love Island and Britain's Got Talent. Love Island’s editing team picked up the Editing - Entertainment & Comedy award while Florian Wieder won the Production Design - Entertainment & Non Drama category. 


The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to sound supervisor Tony Revell, who in a career spanning more than 30 years has worked on shows including Top of the Pops, Only Fools and Horses, The Eurovision Song Contest and Strictly Come Dancing.

In sport, Matt Roberts, Kevin Evans, Jordan Buckingham and Scott Deaming collected the Editing - Sport award for their work on the UEFA Champions League final 2017 - Real Madrid v Juventus (BT Sport); while the Multicamera Work - Sport accolade went to Helen Kuttner, Tim Moses, Mark Dennis and the Camera Team for the 2017 IAAF World Athletics Championships. Also in the multicamera category, Richard Valentine and Matt Ingham picked up the Multicamera Work award for One Love Manchester (BBC One).

Other awards handed out on the night included: Design - Programme Content Sequences which was collected by Made In Colour for Finding My Family - Partition (CBBC); Design - Titles, which went to Huge Designs’ Hugo Moss, Paul McDonnell and Ben Hanbury for ITV’s Fearless; Design - Trails & Packaging which was picked-up by Rob Heath, John Cryer, Shizuka Hata and Rachel Warr for Film Fear (Film4); Editing - Documentary/Factual which was won by Sam Santana for Bring Me Back To Life (Channel 4); Effects - Special which was collected by Real SFX for Sherlock (BBC One); Make Up Design - Entertainment & Non Drama which went to Siobhán Harper-Ryan for The Drug TrialEmergency at the Hospital (BBC Two) and Picture Enhancement which was awarded to Dan Gill for Hospital - Series 2 (BBC Two).

Click here for more information.

You are here

The Royal Television Society has announced the winners of the Craft & Design Awards 2017 at a glittering ceremony in central London.