student awards

Winners of RTS Student Awards 2018 announced

Winners of the RTS Student Awards 2018 (Credit: Richard Kendal/RTS)

Chaired by Philip Edgar-Jones, Director of Sky Arts, the awards recognise the best audiovisual work created by students across the UK and Republic of Ireland at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

In the undergraduate categories, Kingston University picked up three awards including the Judges' Award, which went to Laymun. The film, which was created by Catherine Prowse and Hannah Quinn also secured the Undergraduate Animation Award; while Martha Halliday and Hannah McNally took home the Undergraduate Short Feature Award for Mm-Hmm.

Winners of the RTS Republic of Ireland Student Awards announced

The award presenters (From left: Paul Yonge CEO Cartoon Saloon, Bill Malone Director of Programmes TV3, Dee Forbes RTE DG, Alan Esslemont DG TG4, Larry Bass MD Shin a Whil) (Credit: Charles Byrne)
National Film School students scooped the Animation, Comedy and Entertainment, Drama and Short Feature categories at the ceremony, which was held at RTÉ in Dublin.
Joe McWalter from Dundalk Institute of Technology won the other category awarded on the night, the Short Factual prize. His film about online gambling, Pixel Value, was praised by the judges for its “slick editing and impressive pace”.

RTS Scotland Student Television Awards 2018

On the last evening in January, nominees, lecturers and various professionals from across the industry met in Cottiers theatre in Glasgow's West End to celebrate Scotland’s burgeoning talent and congratulate the winners of the 2018 RTS Scotland Student Television Awards.

The ceremony was hosted by Glasgow’s very own queen of comedy Karen Dunbar, who kept the crowd roaring with laughter from beginning to end - pausing only to applaud each of the winners and nominees for their outstanding entries.

RTS Scotland Student Awards 2018

RTS Scotland welcomes you to join us in celebrating the finest student television in Scotland across genres of animation, factual, comedy & entertainment, short feature and drama, with students from Edinburgh College of Art, University of Edinburgh, The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, University of Stirling, Fife College, North East Scotland College, Glasgow Clyde College, Edinburgh Napier University, Glasgow Caledonian University and The University of the West of Scotland.

Devon and Cornwall Student Awards

The university’s Mads Johan Øgaard and Katie Wyman scooped the Animation award with I Am Dyslexic; Adam Gunton and Michael Brown won the Comedy and Entertainment award for The Reunion; and the Drama prize went to Max Jedwab for Ockham’s Razor.

Dan Adamson, TwoFour’s director of programmes, who hosted the awards, told the students: “Your talent, skill and energy are needed to fill hundreds of hours of content on the telly and online. Television needs new blood, it needs new ideas and it needs new talent – all of the time.”