RTS Pilgrim Awards

Tony Pilgrim was Honorary Secretary of the RTS for 19 years, as well as being Chairman of Council in 1969 and 1970. Over this period, he helped transform the Society from a small club into the prestigious and respected organisation it is today. To commemorate this achievement, Council created the Award in 1994. It represents the Society’s acknowledgement of voluntary outstanding service to the Society.

The Award differs from a Fellowship in two respects: it can go to groups as well as an individual and it does not demand an outstanding contribution to the wider television community, only to the Society.

  • The outstanding service can be over an extended period or for a specific contribution to the Society’s objects or wellbeing.
  • The service or contribution can be at a regional or national level.
  • The award is open to an individual, a group or a centre.
  • A centre can nominate only one person or group from its own centre, though it may nominate as many names as it chooses from other centres.
  • Every nomination should be accompanied by a written explanation of why the nominee deserves the award.
  • A decision on the winner is taken annually by the Executive Committee of the Society.

David Lowen

RTS Honorary Secretary