RTS Republic of Ireland Student Television Awards

RTS Republic of Ireland Student Television Awards

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Actress Aislinn Ní Uallachain, Course Coordinator Melanie Adams, Award Recipient Noel Aungierand RTÉ DG Dee Forbes: Comedy & Entertainment Award. (Credit: Karl Hussey)

Students from three colleges shared the honours at the RTS Republic of Ireland Student Television Awards in mid-February.

Sean Cunningham, Paul Kavanagh, Padraic Byrne, Nicole Storck and team from the Irish School of Animation, Ballyfermot College of Further Education took the Animation award with an irreverent film about religion, Define Intervention. “The original scripting and placing of witty set pieces immediately conveyed a well-crafted animation with great attention to detail and unique comedy,” said the jury.

Noel Aungier, a fellow Ballyfermot College of Further Education student, was awarded the Comedy and Entertainment prize for Trixi, “a lively, narrative piece encompassing the world of magic with music, movement and charm”.

National Film School, IADT, Dun Laoghaire students Jordan Murshed and Eoin Duggan took the Short Feature category with Vitruvius, which featured “strong opening graphics, an effective score and sound effects”.

The award in the Factual category also went to National Film School students, Laura Gaynor and Luke Brabazon, for When the Butcher Stopped Ordering Meat. The jury particularly admired the opening and closing sequences, the cutaway shots and “the warm congenial atmosphere maintained throughout”.

Ciarán McNamara, Ashley Turbett, Phil Davin, Pierce McDonagh and team from the School of Media, Dublin Institute of Technology, scooped the Drama award for Adolf and Eva, “a well-constructed comedy-drama, with clever scripting and good acting”.

The jury added: “The set, lighting, direction, sound and editing were all of a very high standard, with excellent attention paid to makeup, props, and graphics, resulting in a highly professional production.”

RTÉ Director General Dee Forbes presented the awards at a ceremony held at RTÉ Studio One in Dublin.

“The jury was delighted to have such a high number of entries again this year in the five categories, and it was very impressed with the standard of the work of the students,” said the Chair of the Republic of Ireland Centre, Charles Byrne.

  • h

All photos taken by Karl Hussey.