RTS announces new bursary scheme scholars for 2023

RTS announces new bursary scheme scholars for 2023

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Monday, 30th October 2023

The RTS has selected 44 promising scholars for the 2023 bursary schemes.

Across the 44 recipients, 34 were selected for the TV Production and Journalism Bursary (TVPJ) and 10 for the Digital Innovation Bursary (DI). Two TVPJ recipients were also awarded named scholarships. Amelia Nicola, receiving the Steve Hewlett Scholarship, and Cerys Horner the Beryl Vertue Scholarship, introduced by the RTS in 2022 for a candidate with an interest in producing.

Apple TV+ is supporting the scheme in 2023, with All3Media, the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund, Hartswood Films and STV continuing their generous support from previous years. STV has selected eight TVPJ and one DI bursary recipient for 2023, who will receive financial support, an STV mentor and work experience.

The successful scholars for 2023 attend 32 universities and institutions across the UK and will each receive financial support to assist with their expenses and living costs along with a free RTS membership while studying, with an additional year after they graduate. In their final year of study, the RTS will also set up mentoring opportunities, matching each awardee with one of their industry members.

Theresa Wise, CEO of the Royal Television Society, said: “This year we have received the highest number of applications to date and have had the difficult task of narrowing this down to just 44 talented individuals embarking on further education with the drive to work in our industry. It is extremely important to the RTS to provide support, guidance and opportunities to the next generation who will be building and changing the UK and international television industry and we couldn’t do this without the support and donations we receive – we are delighted for Apple TV+ to be on board this year alongside our existing partners.”

To date, the RTS has invested over £1million in the scheme, and supported 325 bursary scholars throughout their education. The schemes attract widespread industry backing in the form of donations to fund bursaries and in-kind support, such as mentoring, hosting networking events, and offering internships and work experience. Donations have enabled the scheme to grow and flourish.

For more information on the bursary schemes and eligibility for 2024 when open please visit RTS Bursaries.

Full List of Television Production and Broadcast Journalism Bursary Scholars:

Steve Hewlett Scholarship:

Amelia Nicola, Media and Television Production, University of Chester

RTS Television Production and Journalism Scholars:

Adam Dunstan, Politics and Modern History, Cardiff University

Amaar Zafar, Filmmaking BA (Hons), Screen and Film School

Angel Hannaway, Filmmaking, University of the West of England, Bristol

Bobby Moloney, Filmmaking, University of the West of England, Bristol

Cerys Horner, Film Practice, University of the Arts, London

Charley Burke, Filmmaking, BIMM Institute - Screen and Film School, Manchester

Clarissa Colle, Journalism BA (Hons), City University of London

Ellen Fincher, Filmmaking BA (Hons), University of Central Lancashire

Freyja Howlett, Set design for film and TV BA (Hons), University of South Wales

Harry Dyke, Television Production, Bournemouth University

Joshua Seneviratne, Journalism, The University of Leicester

Kerena Cobbina, Broadcast and Multimedia Journalism, University of East Anglia

Kirsty Dunlop, TV And Film Set Design, University of South Wales

Lauren Carr, Film and Television Production, The University of York

Lloyd Rodd, Film, University of South Wales

Matthew Taylor, Journalism, Politics and History BA (Hons), City University of London

Millie Greaves, Sports Journalism, The University of Central Lancashire

Millie Oldham, Film and Television Production, The University of York

MJ Murray, Film and TV Production, University of Northumbria

Naomi Hubble, Film Production, The Arts University Bournemouth

Nayan Sharma, Film Business and Productions, BIMM Institute - Screen and Film School, Manchester

Ryan Hanan, Film Production, Southampton Solent University

Taylah Stewart, Media and Communications, The University of West London

Tom Saunders, Filmmaking BA (Hons), SFS Brighton (BIMM Institute)

William Swain, Television Production, Southampton Solent University

STV Scholars (TVPJ):

Alastair McGowan, Television BA (Hons), City of Glasgow College

Ava Scott-Nadal, Film and Television Studies/Philosophy, The University of Glasgow

Emma Wood, Television (Advanced entry), Edinburgh Napier University

Emma Comfort, English Literature/Film and Television Studies, The University of Glasgow

Kamal Aziz, Journalism Studies, The University of Stirling

Lee Degnan, Filmmaking and Screen Writing, The University of the West of Scotland

Madelaine Guildford, Film and Television Studies, The University of Glasgow

Michaella Tracey, Television, City of Glasgow College

Digital Innovation Scholars:

Dolapo Okuboyejo, BA (Hons) 3D Animation and Visual Effects, University of Hertfordshire

Gareth Harman, Visual Effects with Motion Graphics, Brunel University London

Kodey Neesam, Games Art, Teesside University

Kwadwo Bonna Addo, Film Production and Broadcast Engineering BEng (Hons), University of Surrey

Lucy Cates, Music, Sound and Technology, The City University

Maxime Bertrand-Southgate, Music and Sound Recording, The University of York

Melissa Smart, Broadcast Engineering, Ravensbourne University

Paul Mallen, Music Production, Staffordshire University

Tia Tshabola, Creative Computing, University of the Arts, London

STV Scholars (DI):

Sofia Happy Banya Ceregido, Computer and Electronic Systems, The University of Strathclyde

You are here

The RTS has selected 44 promising scholars for the 2023 bursary schemes.