RTS Young Technologist of the Year 2022

Applications have now closed for the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award 2022.


The coveted award celebrates an outstanding engineer or technologist in the early stages of their career, highlighting the talent of those with a future in broadcast or its related industries. The RTS is no longer accepting submissions for the prestigious award, with applications now closed. 

The award is open to those working within the technical side of broadcasting or its related industries, including: broadcasters, production companies and facilities houses, hardware and software suppliers to the industry, telecommunications suppliers of television capacity services, and recognised research institutions which are contributing in a demonstrable way to television in the UK.

Chair of the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award Jury, Terry Marsh, said: “The past two years have shown technological innovation to be the beating heart of the television industry as we have adapted in the face of challenges and the constantly evolving landscape. It is hugely important for us to be celebrating these young technologists and to keep providing them with opportunities to continue pushing our industry forward. We look forward to receiving entries for 2022!”

The winner of last year’s award was Simon Hui, Graduate Technical Engineer at Timeline TV. The panel of industry expert judges were impressed by Simon’s exceptional knowledge and passion for the future, and his understanding that ground-breaking technology isn’t necessarily appropriate for every scenario. The 2021 runner up and recipient of the Coffey Award of Excellence in Technology was Gabriella Watkins, a Broadcast Technician at television facility Dock10.

The Young Technologist Award was established by the RTS with funds received from the family of A.M. Beresford-Cooke – a distinguished engineer who significantly contributed to the development of British broadcasting technology through his work on towers and masts for VHF and UHF transmission. The aim of the award is to advance education in the science, practice, technology and art of television and its allied fields.

The runner-up will receive the Coffey Award for Excellence in Technology.

To apply for the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award 2022, applicants can download a form here, and should submit it electronically to Jo Sampson by 5pm on Monday 30th May.



Applications have now closed for the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award 2022.