RTS Scotland Student Television Awards 2019

RTS Scotland Student Awards

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, 24 April, 2019

On 24 April, students, graduates, lecturers, television industry professionals gathered at the Argyle Street Arches in Glasgow city centre, for a night of celebration in honour of Scotland's fresh talent. The ceremony was hosted by STV news entertainment reporter/presenter Lara Boyd who was joined by Ewan Denny and Joe Hullait aka comedy double act Link and Lorne.

Photographer: Éva Ibolya Sibinszki from Glasgow Clyde College


The Royal Television Society’s Scotland Centre, honored the winners of its 2019 Student Awards, sponsored by STV, at a glittering ceremony held at The Argyle Street Arches, Glasgow. The event was hosted by STV News entertainment reporter Laura Boyd and comedic double act Link & Lorne. As part of a new partnership we are delighted to have STV support the Scotland Student Awards by filming the event to broadcast edited highlights on the STV Player after the event.

The RTS Student Awards celebrates the best audiovisual work created by students at undergraduate and postgraduate level in ten categories across Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Short Form, Factual, Production Design, Editing, Sound, Camera, and new this year - Writing.

The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland led the way with its students taking home five of the awards, with the University of Glasgow making its first ever entry and winning in the Short Form category, and the University of Stirling scooping all three nominations and the win for the Factual award. 

James Wilson, Chair of RTS Scotland Student Television Awards said: “The judges were greatly impressed by the high standard and ambition of this year’s submissions. These awards play an important role in supporting the talent of tomorrow’s television industry and STV’s involvement giving us the opportunity to view the entries online ensures the work reaches a wider audience.”

Simon Pitts, Chief Executive Officer, STV: “It’s a hugely exciting time for Scotland’s creative industries. By supporting new talent we can ensure Scotland remains at the forefront of creativity. STV is delighted to be offering a platform to the nominees by showcasing their programmes on the STV Player, with highlights of tonight’s event also available.  Beyond tonight, my colleagues at STV will offer mentoring for the winners to support their entry into this vibrant industry.”

All commended, nominated and winning films will be available along with the highlights on STV player:  https://player.stv.tv/summary/rts-student#rts-student-awards

RTS Scotland gives thanks to our generous drinks reception sponsor Mediapec, and wishes each of the students the very best of luck as they make their way forward with their careers. If the creative talent in the room was anything to go by, then we have an exciting future to look forward to in Scottish television.

This years nominees and winners are as follows:


Animation winner Grant Holden from ECA

Animation: Grant Holden

Title: Cleaning in Progress
Production Company: Edinburgh College of Art

“Radioactive” - Pamela Gray (Edinburgh College of Art)
“Short Changed” - Zoë Hutber (Edinburgh College of Art)

Kenneth McGuire, Comedy and Entertainment winner

Comedy and Entertainment: Kenneth Maguire

Title: Maroon by Rob Auton
Production Company: Glasgow Clyde College

“Shed” - Harvey Gardner, Arthur Johnson, Jack Jeffrey, Fraser Maclean (University of the West of Scotland)
“Transcendental Medication” - Arran Totten, Harry Mulvenna, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College)

Drama winner

Drama: Edward Kondracki, Sedona May Tubbs, Kieran Howe, JP Pezet, John Dew, Robin Boreham

Title: What Separates Us From the Beast
Production Company: Royal Conservatoire Scotland

“Last Confession” - Ryan Stewart, Stuart McAlinden, David Paterson, Lewis Macleod (City of Glasgow College)
“Incoming Tide” - Joanna Ellis, Robin Boreham, Gabriel de Bruin, Sophie Wilkinson, Adai Faigen, Gemma McAdam, Niall Scott-Martin (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Short Form winner

Short Form: Xavier Weiss, Angelo Perdikou, JuEunhae Knox, Greig King, Vincent Jozajtis, Alex Hodgson, Stephen Packe

Title: War Museum
Production Company: Unviversity of Glasgow

“Jim Taylor: We Are Warriors” - Matthew Glen (City of Glasgow College)
“Metamorphosis” - Ruth Christman (City of Glasgow College)

“The Bo'ness Belle” - Rob Casey, Jordan Rigmand, Gemma Munro (Glasgow Clyde College) – Commended

Factual winner

Factual: Danny Flynn Giulia Veronelli Marco Di Gioia

Title: The Bad Guy
Production Company: University of Stirling

“Finding Your Feet” - Stephanie Van Eck, Elizabeth Clutterbuck, Max Muirhead, Alexandra Jowett, Douglas Matheson (University of Stirling)
“Tackling the Mind” - Jack Haggerty, Kieran McAllister, Chris Stuart, Eva Prikler, Adil Aslam (University of Stirling)

Robin Boreham - Writer Award winner

Writing: Robin Boreham

Title: Incoming Tide
Production Company: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Paul Barrie, Production Design winner

Production Design: Paul Barrie

Title: Threnody
Production Company: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Eric Joseph (MD Mediaspec) and Martin Waldie

Editing: Martin Waldie, Christy Kail

Title: The Last Sip
Production Company: Glasgow Clyde College

Sound: Karo Pietilä

Title: Coalescence
Production Company: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Johnstone Macpherson-Stewart and STV CEO Simon Pitts

Camera: Johnston Macpherson-Stewart

Title: Coalescence
Production Company: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland