RTS Scotland Student Television Awards 2018

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, 31 January, 2018


A night of celebration in honour of Scotland's fresh talent

On the last evening in January, nominees, lecturers and various professionals from across the industry met in Cottiers theatre in Glasgow's West End to celebrate Scotland’s burgeoning talent and congratulate the winners of the 2018 RTS Scotland Student Television Awards.

The ceremony was hosted by Glasgow’s very own queen of comedy Karen Dunbar, who kept the crowd roaring with laughter from beginning to end - pausing only to applaud each of the winners and nominees for their outstanding entries.

Each award was presented by members of the RTS Scotland Committee and judging panel, all of whom are esteemed members of Scotland’s creative industries; including last year’s RTS Scotland's Young Journalist of the Year Kevin Anderson, Suzanne Lord, deputy head of news at STV as well as Bobby Hain, STV's director of channels and Eric Joseph, MD of Mediaspec who sponsored the Awards.

Louise Thornton, Commissioning Executive of Digital, Social Youth at BBC Scotland and producer and developer of BBC’s digital channel The Social, was particularly impressed by the standard of talent in the room and remarked that it gave her enormous hope for the future of media in Scotland. Thornton’s work with the BBC aims to provide a platform for young peoples’ voices to be heard and reflect their experiences in a positive light; creating digital content for young people, by young people.

James Wilson chaired the judging panel for the first time. There were a record number of submissions from an increased number of institutions with nominations from Edinburgh College of Art, Edinburgh Napier University, Fife College, Glasgow Caledonian University, Glasgow Clyde College, North East Scotland College, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, University of Edinburgh, University of Stirling and University of the West of Scotland. Awards entry coordinator, Dr Rachael Flynn, consultant to UWS Creative & Academic Development Team urged the nominees to 'continue doing what makes your heart sing', and presuming they do; the incredible standard of their work shines like a beacon of hope for the future of Scotland's television industry.

The celebrations continued with The Micro Band who played the ceremony out in style.

RTS Scotland gives thanks to our generous sponspor Mediapec, and wishes each of the students the very best of luck as they make their way forward with their careers. If the creative talent in the room was anything to go by, then we have an exciting future to look forward to in Scottish television.

This years shortlisted nominees and winners are as follows:


Grant Holden Animation winner

Short Feature

Title: Poet With Punch
Sweeping Canvases
The Worst Enemy

By Amber Saunders, Paul McGranahan, Ryan Smith and Zdenek Ruzicka of University of the West of Scotland

The judges were impressed by the originality of this piece, as well as the stunning cinematography and quality of the sound production. 'Poet With Punch' will be showing at film festivals across the UK this year.


Title: Hear Me Now
Disco Wolf
The Bladesmith

By Hannah McKelvie, Joel Rock, Josefin Dahlin and Maria Craig of the University of Stirling

The judges were captured by the emotional power of this short documentary whose contributors reflect on a childhood experience which affected their whole lives. Director Maria Craig enrolled in a Film & Media course at Stirling University where she won the award for highest achieving student, and has since gone on to win various awards for her documentaries.


Title: Antonio
Salt & Sauce

by Alison Still and Hannah Smith

The ambition and execution of this period drama excited the judges. Writer, director and editor Still paid special thanks to her cast - some of whom learned Italian specifically for the role.

Comedy and Entertainment

Title: Best Men
Dentures of Death
When I'm Alone

By Alia Ghafar and Andrew Ashworth of Edinburgh College of Art

Not only did the judges enjoy the warmth and humour of this piece, they were also impressed by its technical accomplishment.


Title: Expedition
The Bad Fire
The Oddler

By Samantha Hendrie

The judges commended Hendrie's technical craft and her dedication to maintaining the essence of the poem by David Manderson on which it is based.

Craft Award for Production Design: Siiri Korhonen

Title: Antonio

Craft Award for Editing: Mario Cruzado

Title: Salt & Sauce

Craft Award for Sound: James Wright

Title: Salt & Sauce

Craft Award for Camera: Andrew Berry

Title: The Bladesmith
Production Company: Glasgow Clyde College

Photographer: Beth M Cameron

Reporter: Alice Aries