RTS undergraduate scholars 2021 announced

RTS undergraduate scholars 2021 announced

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
By RTS Media,
Wednesday, 22nd December 2021
Credit: RTS/Paul Hampartsoumian

The RTS has awarded the recipients of its 2021 undergraduate bursaries.

The RTS’ bursary schemes support young people from lower income backgrounds who are interested in working in the television industry, from production or related subjects through to technology roles.

For 2021, a total of 39 bursaries have been presented across TV Production and Journalism, Technology, and the Steve Hewlett Scholar programmes. These impressive students are attending 27 universities and institutions across the UK and will receive £1,000 per year to assist with their expenses and living costs along with a free RTS membership while studying, with an additional year after they graduate. In their final year of study, the RTS will also aim to set-up mentoring opportunities matching each awardee with one of their industry members. The Steve Hewlett scholarship awardee will receive £2,000 per annum from the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund supported by the RTS and The Media Society.

The Television Production and Broadcast Journalism bursary awardees are: Ahmed Ali, Sophie Beck, Andrew Carstairs, James Carstairs, Maisie Duckworth, Celine Egan, Megan Gibney, Jamal Helwig Dorris, Matthew Hill, Madison Jennings, Craig Kelly, Ash Mills, Kulthum Mohamed, Ahmad Mohsin, Hosanna Pwasanga, Aodhán Roberts, Ewelina Sawicka, Anna Scarr, Isobel Singh and Evan Taylor. Continuing its generous support, eight of this year’s bursaries have been funded by STV, including: Mendy Bala, Martin Bavlnka, Daniela Carvalho, Deborah Dow, William Gordon, David McCarrison, Martha Roseweir and Flynn Smith.

Those students receiving a Technology bursary are: Abubakar Aqiil, Ebenezer Arthur, Sneha Balamurali, Isaac Denucci Diarrassouba, Eleanor MacCarthy, Farheen Muhammed, Haris Naeem, Roland Olajide, Muhammad Shameer Imtiaz and Hashim Yasin. This year, the Steve Hewlett Memorial Fund scholar is Lola Panic.

Theresa Wise, RTS CEO, said: “The RTS has been delighted with the achievements of our scholars to date. We recruit talented students and provide them with some great opportunities to gain access to the industry and open doors – but the successes of our scholars are very much down to their own efforts, creativity, and determination.

We are very grateful to the numerous people from the industry who have supported our bursary programme and alumni to date. It is particularly gratifying when we can help them in return to address industry shortages such as production management and IT support – where we currently have Alumni from both our bursary programmes working as Production Secretaries or Coordinators, and our recent recruits include two students studying a degree in Production Management.”

Evan Taylor, Film BA (Hons) at the University of Westminster and a 2021 bursary recipient, said: “For me, receiving a bursary from the RTS isn’t just representative of the financial backing, but of the opportunity to be a part of an industry-recognised community of likeminded people. From networking events to industry tutorials, and project support, receiving this bursary is a great honour and I can’t wait to get started.”

To date, the RTS has invested over £1million in the scheme, awarding more than 250 bursaries in total and supporting scholars throughout their education. Donations to support the scheme from STV, All3Media, Disney and YouView have continued to enable the scheme to grow and flourish, with over 80% of the graduates from the first five years of intake working in Television or related industries.

For more information on the bursary schemes and eligibility for 2022 when open, please click here.


Full List of Television Production and Broadcast Journalism Bursary Scholars:

Steve Hewlett Scholarship

Lola Panic, Media and Communications, Goldsmith’s College


RTS Television Production and Journalism Scholars

Ahmed Ali, Editing and Post-Production, Ravensbourne

Sophie Beck, Media and Communication, Glasgow Caledonian University

Andrew Carstairs, Film and Television Production, The University of York

James Carstairs, Film and Television Production, The University of York

Maisie Duckworth, Television Production, Bournemouth University

Celine Egan, Music and Sound Design, The Queen's University of Belfast

Megan Gibney, Television Production Management, Edge Hill University

Jamal Helwig Dorris, Digital Film Production, Ravensbourne

Matthew Hill, VFX and motion graphics, Brunel

Madison Jennings, Journalism, The University of Lincoln

Craig Kelly, Television (BA HONS), City of Glasgow College

Ash Mills, BA (Hons) Television, City of Glasgow College

Kulthum Mohamed, Sports Journalism, The University of Central Lancashire

Ahmad Mohsin, Film & Television Production, Edge Hill University

Hosanna Pwasanga, Filmmaking, London Film Academy

Aodhán Roberts, Cinematic Arts, University of Ulster

Ewelina Sawicka, Design for Film and Television, The Nottingham Trent University

Anna Scarr, Television and Radio Production, University of Salford

Isobel Singh, Film, Television and Digital Production, Royal Holloway

Evan Taylor, Film BA (Hons), University of Westminster


STV Supported Bursary Scholars

Mendy Bala, Film and Television Production BA, Edinburgh

Martin Bavlnka, Television (top-up), City of Glasgow College

Daniela Carvalho, Journalism, The Robert Gordon University

Deborah Dow, BA Television, Edinburgh Napier University

William Gordon, Television (top-up) (BATV), City of Glasgow College

David McCarrison, BA (Hons) Television, City of Glasgow College

Martha Roseweir, Film and Television, The University of Edinburgh

Flynn Smith, HND Creative Industries: Television, City of Glasgow College


RTS Technology Scholars

Abubakar Aqiil, Computer Science, Queen Mary University of London

Ebenezer Arthur, Engineering (Electronic and Electrical), University College London

Sneha Balamurali, Physics, University College London

Isaac Denucci Diarrassouba, Computer Science, The University of Cambridge

Eleanor MacCarthy, Creative Computing, Goldsmiths College

Farheen Muhammed, Engineering Science, University of Oxford

Haris Naeem, Computer Science, The University of Westminster

Roland Olajide, Computer Science, The University of Leicester

Muhammad Shameer Imtiaz, Electronic Engineering, King's College London

Hashim Yasin, Physics, The University of Warwick

You are here

The RTS has awarded the recipients of its 2021 undergraduate bursaries.