RTS Cymru Awards 2019: Shortlisted Jury Nominations Announced

RTS Cymru Awards 2019: Shortlisted Jury Nominations Announced

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
By RTS Wales Centre,
Tuesday, 22nd January 2019

For this first time this year, RTS Wales has introduced two new industry awards to run alongside the annual student awards, with the event rebranded as the RTS Cymru Awards.

The two new categories are:

  • Industry Newcomer Award
  • Industry Breakthrough Award

Nominated by employers, both awards are intended to recognise and reward rising new talent. 

The Newcomer Award is for new entrants to the television industry in Wales, while the Industry Breakthrough Award is for those who have progressed a little further and have a minimum of two years’ experience of working in the TV industry and have achieved at least one on-screen credit.

In both categories, nominees can be working in any aspect of the behind-the camera production process, including development, research, production management and all craft roles. The two new awards reinforce a long-standing commitment by RTS Wales to support young people wishing to pursue a career in television.

Shortlisted Nominations:

Industry Newcomer Award

  • Sam Rhys (Boom Cymru)
  • Ellis Clark (ITV Cymru Wales)

Industry Breakthrough Award

  • Andrew Sheehy (Boomerang)
  • Cai Morgan (Boom Cymru)
  • Sian Thomas (ITV Cymru Wales)

The winners will be announced on February 6th at the RTS Cymru Awards ceremony.

Student Awards

Now in their 24th year, the Student Awards recognise the best audio-visual work created by students attending higher education institutions and, for the first time, further education courses in Wales. 

Entries were received this year from three universities and one college of further education: Aberystwyth University, Cardiff and Vale College, University of South Wales and the University of Wales Trinity Saint David

Shortlisted Nominations:


  • Birden (University of South Wales)
  • Dogs in the Apocalypse (University of South Wales) 
  • Reach Out (University of South Wales)

Entertainment & Comedy

  • Keith Barry John (University of South Wales)
  • Superglued Up (University of South Wales)


  • A Table For (University of South Wales), 
  • Faruq (University of South Wales)
  • Maggie’s Farm (University of South Wales)


  • The Stand (Cardiff and Vale College)
  • On Air (Aberystwyth University) 
  • Mathew vs Pritchard (University of South Wales)

Short Form

  • There are no nominations in this category.

The RTS Cymru Awards Evening will be held on 6th February at the University of South Wales Atrium in Cardiff and will be hosted by Matt Lissack and Polly James of Capital FM
Tickets can be booked via Eventbrite and are free of charge.

The judging panels for both the Industry Awards and the Student Awards were made up of senior professionals from the main broadcasters, the independent television production sector and the higher education sector. 

The first prize winner in each main category (except the Craft Skills Awards) will also be entered into the UK-wide RTS Student Television Awards.


You are here