Nominations for RTS Programme Awards 2018 announced

Nominations for RTS Programme Awards 2018 announced

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Tuesday, 6th March 2018

The RTS has announced the nominations for the RTS Programme Awards 2018, in partnership with Audio Network

The awards ceremony, hosted by Vernon Kay, will take place on Tuesday 20 March 2018 at the Grosvenor House Hotel, Park Lane, London.

The RTS Programme Awards honour excellence across all genres of television programming and recognise exceptional actors, presenters, writers and production teams, as well as the programmes themselves. The awards are chaired by Wayne Garvie.

BBC One’s drama, Three Girls, receives three nominations including the Breakthrough Award for actor Molly Windsor; she is up against Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper for This Country (BBC Three) and Daniel Lawrence Taylor for Timewasters (ITV2). Nicole Taylor earns Three Girls another nomination in the Writer – Drama category, alongside Charlie Covell for The End of the F***ing World (Channel 4) and Jeff Pope for Little Boy Blue (ITV), as well as a nod for the Mini- Series award which is also contested by The State (Channel 4) and Born To Kill (Channel 4).

Little Boy Blue receives two additional nominations for two of its lead actors – Sinéad Keenan runs for the Actor (Female) award against Wunmi Mosaku for Damilola, Our Loved Boy (BBC One) and Thandie Newton for Line of Duty (BBC One), while Stephen Graham is joined in the Actor (Male) category by Sean Bean for Broken (BBC One) and Jack Rowan who wins a second nomination for Born To Kill (Channel 4).

The Drama Series award sees Ackley Bridge (Channel 4), The End of the F***ing World (Channel 4) and The Crown (Netflix) in contention, while Damilola, Our Loved Boy (BBC One) garners a second nomination in the Single Drama category along with Murdered for Being Different (BBC Three) and King Charles III (BBC Two). The Soap and Continuing Drama award will be contested by Coronation Street (ITV), EastEnders (BBC One) and Holby City (BBC One).

Hospital (BBC Two), Catching A Killer (Channel 4) and The Detectives: Murder on the Streets (BBC Two) will vie for the Documentary Series award, and the Single Documentary category features nominees Chris Packham: Aspergers and Me (BBC Two), Rio Ferdinand Being Mum and Dad (BBC One) and The Accused (Channel 5).

Adam Hills, Alex Brooker and Josh Widdecombe (The Last Leg, Channel 4) will hope to repeat last year’s triumph in the Entertainment Performance category, where they are joined by Claudia Winkleman for Strictly Come Dancing (BBC One) and Anthony McPartlin and Declan Donnelly for I'm A Celebrity...Get Me Out of Here! (ITV). Similarly, Ant and Dec will have a chance to retain their Entertainment Programme crown for Ant and Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway (ITV), in a category that also includes Murder in Successville (BBC Three) and Love Island (ITV).

The Presenter category features last year’s winner Grayson Perry (Grayson Perry: Divided Britain, Channel 4), as well as Anita Rani (My Family, Partition and Me: India 1947, BBC One), and Gordon Ramsay (Gordon Ramsay on Cocaine, ITV). In the world of sport, Osi Umenyiora (NFL This Week, The NFL Show, BBC Two) will also defend his 2017 title against Michael Johnson (World Athletics Championships, BBC One and BBC Two) and Kelly Cates (Friday Night Football, Sky Sports) for the Sports Presenter, Commentator or Pundit award.

The RTS Channel of the Year award, which was launched last year, will be contested by CBBC, BBC One and Channel 5.

Other nominations include a second nomination for Grayson Perry: Divided Britain (Channel 4) in the Arts category alongside Paula Rego: Secrets and Stories (BBC Two) and Basquiat - Rage to Riches (BBC Two), and the Children’s Programme category features Inside My Head: A Newsround Special (CBBC), Jamie Johnson/ End Game (CBBC) and Apple Tree House/ Talking Books (CBeebies).

Click here to see the full list of nominations

Watch Good Morning Britain's Ranvir Singh announce the nominations

You are here

The RTS has announced the nominations for the RTS Programme Awards 2018, in partnership with Audio Network