Student Television Awards 2013

RTS Student Awards 2013

The Royal Television Society (RTS), Britain's leading forum for television and related media, has announced the winners of the RTS Student Television Awards 2013.

The Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were judged in four categories: Fiction, Entertainment, Factual and Animation. Students from universities across the UK picked up awards, including the National Film and Television School;  Goldsmiths, University of London; The Northern Film School at Leeds Metropolitan University; Kingston University; the University of Bradford; Southampton Solent University; and The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

Chaired by Patrick Younge, Founder and Director of WeCreate Associates Ltd and former Chief Creative Officer for BBC Productions, the Awards celebrate the best in student television from across the UK.

The winners were announced at an awards ceremony hosted by comedian and actor Joel Dommett on Friday 16 May at the BFI Southbank, London.



Undergraduate Animation
: Alicja Jasina

Title: The Light Bulb

Production Company: Kingston University
Don Carey - Innisfree
Adam Gierasimiuk - Poyo and Neko

“A well-scripted, delightfully funny and subversive film that takes a wry, oblique look at the creative process of making a student film, whilst making one!”

Undergraduate Entertainment: Elliot Nelson, Alex Rudys, Nichola Emsley, Simeon Petkov and Gary Quan

Title: Telebox
Production Company: University of Bradford
Ally Lockhart, Ruth Gallacher, Chris McGarrity, Kyle Spence and Guy Thomson - Fist Punch
Bethany Lamont and Team - Mini Munchies

“The jury thought Telebox was brave and ambitious despite its small production budget. The script was well-written with a clear narrative arc and the characters had been well thought through. It was executed to a high standard with accomplished direction.”

Undergraduate Factual: Sam Clarke and Matt Farrant

Title: Birdman
Production Company: Southampton Solent University
Neringa Medutyte, Arnoldas Alubauskas, Liam Dowler and Jonathan Mason - Twogether
Pawel Grzyb, Christopher McGill and Michal Zagorski - Untold Story

“The film captured a simple and moving story with visual ambition. During the making of this film the producers discovered a different story to one they had anticipated and the panel commended their drive to follow this new path to produce a more rewarding character driven film.”

Undergraduate Fiction: Michael Crumley, Rosemary Levine and Jonathan Blair

Title: Hannah
Production Company: The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland
Diogo Guerner and Team - Snapshot
B Welby-Delimere and Karin Kavanagh - Untitled Blues

“A brave, moving, understated gem of a film. Highly assured direction and compelling performances deliver a poignant story of loneliness and isolation.”

Postgraduate Animation: Kristina Yee, Frances Poletti, Suzanne Mayger and Team

Title: Miss Todd
Production Company: National Film and Television School
Christian Schlaeffer and Carla MacKinnon - The Dewberry Empire
Ana Caro, James Cotton, Jonathan Carr and Team - The Magnificent Lion Boy

“An ambitious well-directed film that delivers its inspirational message with confidence.  The cut-out animation, art direction and camera work all come together beautifully.”

Postgraduate Entertainment: Ben Hillyar, Tim Partridge and Team

Title: Killer Moves
Production Company: National Film and Television School
Andre Sousa, Anti Reinthal and Team - The Big Steal

“An original concept with pacey writing and editing and clear characters with room to develop storylines across a series. The Jury commended it for its ambition, execution and sheer watchability.”


Postgraduate Factual: Lisa Fingleton

Title: Waiting for You
Production Company: Goldsmiths, University of London
Chico Pereira - Pablo's Winter
Adeyemi Michael and Team - Sodiq

“An extremely moving and personal film with engaging story-telling that took the audience through a very real and raw experience with an ending that didn’t shy away from the truth.”

Postgraduate Fiction: Peter Baumann and Nishad Chaughule

Title: Border Patrol
Production Company: The Northern Film School at Leeds Metropolitan University
Joasia Goldyn, Sarah Woolner, Dan Demissie and Team - Cocoons
Cathy Brady, James Walker and Team - Wasted

“Clever, inventive and with lovely performances, this exceptionally well-scripted film delivers as a black comedy with a great twist.”

Follow us on @RTS_media. And keep up-to-date with news about the RTS Student Television Awards at #RTSStudent

Download the full Press Release here.

Click to view a gallery of pictures from the evening here.

Photos by Richard Kendal