RTS Student Awards 2008

The winners of the 14th RTS Student Television Awards were announced at an awards ceremony on Friday 8 May 2009 at The Barbican Centre, Silk Street, London EC2Y 8DS.

It was attended by key television professionals, students and tutors.

The awards were chaired by Peter Salmon and hosted by Jack Whitehall.

Undergraduate and Postgraduate Awards were judged in four categories: Animation, Drama, Entertainment and Factual. Entries for the Undergraduate group were judged on a regional basis and these regional winners were then put forward for national judging. The national juries selected three nominees per category and the winner was selected by secret ballot. The Postgraduate nominees were judged at a national level only.



Side Effect, Jae-Ha Myung, Mireia O'Prey & Team

London College of Communication

“…the film tackled a serious subject well, with elegance and subtlety, and contained a great central performance.”


Clockwork, Patrick Shead-Simmonds

City of Bristol College

This Old Dog, Stephen Paul Dunne, Adam Woodhall, Matthew Haughan,
Jack Wilkins, Thom Brill & Andrew Scattergood

University of Cumbria


Give Us A Break, Christopher Poole & Helen Cunnane

Bournemouth University

“…funny, focused and ambitious, and showed great attention to detail throughout. Great performances helped to provide some laugh out loud moments along with an interesting afterthought about today’s consumerist culture.”


Halb (Half), Rabea Gorney & Dominic Brouard

International Film School Wales, University of Wales, Newport

“…a brilliant and simple idea, an emotionally painful journey, and a funny and surprising ride all at the same time. It was fresh, sharp and focussed, revealing two lifetimes of hope and betrayal with devastating economy.”


Auntie Niecey, Kai Leech, Stephen Roe & Jim Morgan

Manchester Metropolitan University

Chequered Flags Of Our Fathers, Arni Magnusson, Marie Hession, Cey Sesiguzel, Marc Richardson & Laurens Scott

Westminster Film School, University of Westminster


The Great Race, Geoff King & Beth Witchalls

The Arts Institute at Bournemouth

“A highly professionally made film with beautiful artwork... It was an ambitious film well executed, and the jury commended the clear storytelling and the stunning backgrounds.”


Karuzele Rodeo, Karolina Glusiec

University College Falmouth

Khoda, Reza Dolatabadi, Adam Thomson , Mark Szalos Farkas & Hamed Mafakheri

Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design, University of Dundee


Madrugada, Michael Pearce, Shay Elliot & Team

National Film and Television School

“…well written, visually imaginative and… really rather wonderful.”


Love Letters, Samantha Harrie, Jonathan Lewsley & Team

National Film and Television School

Outcasts, Ian Clark, Megan Stuart Wallace, Simon Brooke & Team

National Film and Television School


Spilt Milk, Aneil Karia, Stuart Bentley & Team

National Film and Television School

“…consistently laugh out loud, with excellent writing and performances. A talented group to watch out for in the future...”


Commission Impossible, Fernando R Gutierrez de Jesus, Luke Ritchie, J Sanchez & Team

National Film and Television School

Sounds Like A Laugh, Ikram El-Amriti, Wendy J Dyer, Richard Parker & Team

National Film and Television School


Life On The Grave Side, Marie Billegrav Bryant & Andrea Cuadrado

Goldsmiths, University of London

“What marked out this beautifully edited film was the quality of the relationships the film-maker made with the subjects - she got under the skin of the lost and lonely, the abandoned and the downright aggressive.”


Sprinters, Sam Blair, Jean-Louis Schuller & Maya Maffioli

National Film and Television School

Valley Of The Goats, Leon Dean, Robbie Morrison & Steen Bondrop

National Film and Television School


My Brown Friend, Steven Spencer

Birmingham City University

“…a shockingly powerful exploration of drug addiction. The jury admired the film for its original take on an often explored topic and making it really hit home.”


Rabbit Punch, Kristian Andrews

Royal College of Art

Stand Up, Joseph Pierce, Jessica Levick & Team

National Film and Television School