RTS Yorkshire Student Awards 2024

Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, 6 March, 2024

Congratualtions to this years winners of the RTS Yorkshire Student Awards 2024. 

Thank you to all the entrants and nominees in this years awards.  It has been a bumper year for entries and there has been a fantastically high standard.


Animation: Annie Nicholson/Daniel Simms

Title: The Princess and the Dragon
Production Company: Leeds Arts University
Lisa Brewis - Pop Shot
Louis Veevers - Sherst

Drama: Cameron Haggie/Agrippina Mescherakova/Callum Auckland

Title: Worry-Fear-Unease. The Triptych
Production Company: Northern Film School, Leeds Beckett University
Timm Cleasby/Cory Holmes/Harrison Hall/Fredric Cash/Will Burton/Jack Bowring - The Collector
Kieran Weller/Hayden Simpson/Allie McGuigan/Toby Westwood - Stranger

Journalism: Evie Samman

Title: Women who Weight lift - Raising the Bar for gender equality
Production Company: University of Leeds
Taylor James - The Pressures of Perfection
Joshua Hall - Women's golf project

Factual: Oliver Burke/Searus Aynsley/Max Clibbon

Title: Beyond Borders: Mo's Story
Production Company: Sheffield Hallam University
Beth Cameron - The Impossibility of Happiness
Connor Washer/Josh Worth/Christopher Scattergood/Luke Welford - Shark Mindset

Entertainment and Comedy Drama: Elliot Foster/Annie Foulkes /Andrei Stanescu

Title: Kate is Sad
Production Company: Northern Film School, Leeds Beckett University
Austin Jones/Luke Berridge/Ethan Fenton/Beth Ferry/Will Bramall - The Final Cut
Niall Watson/Lili Rose Gensetter/Sophie Nimmo/Tom Morrison/Max Roach/Jerome Harrison/Ellen Jeffreys/Jingfeng Zhai - Three To Hide

We are also delighted to have been able to award the following Craft Awards...

For Cinematography:

Christopher Scattergood for Shark Mindset – Sheffield Hallam University

Elian Beaumont for Strangers – Leeds Trinity University

Tom Morrison for Three To Hide – University of York

For Editing:

Austin Jones for The Final Cut – University of York

Beth Cameron for The Impossibility of Happiness – York St John University

For Production Design:

Timm Cleasby for The Collector – Sheffield Hallam University

Marta Bjork Atladottir for Inked In – Leeds Arts University

Antonia Walsh for Sandwich Suspicions – Sheffield Hallam University

Louis Veevers for Sherst – Sheffield Hallam University

Hope Hewart & Vivienne Percival for Voyage – Leeds Arts University

For Writing:

Annie Foulkes for Kate is Sad – Northern Film School at Leeds Beckett

Liv Berry for Planets Aligned – Sheffield Hallam University