RTS Yorkshire Awards 2006

The RTS Yorkshire Centre Awards 2006 was another milestone passed in its short but creditable history. The awards’ dinner and presentation, hosted by the admirable Lynn Faulds Wood and John Stapleton, attracted the region’s top talent. Outstanding amongst the winners was Keith Richardson, Controller of Drama, Granada Yorkshire, who collected the 2006 Award for his Outstanding Contribution to Television. 

A graduate of the Royal Academy of Music and College of Dramatic Art, Keith Richardson learned his trade in the theatre in Glasgow, Pitlochry and Edinburgh. 

Along the way, he was a director of a theatrical agency – funniest client, Mr Billy Connolly. 

His work as a leading producer of television drama has been prolific, provocative and pre-eminent over four decades. He made his name with “Harry’s Game” and later won two “Emmys” – one for Supergran and the other for “Lost for Words”. He was also nominated on two other occasions. 

He joined Yorkshire TV in 1969 and shuttled between Leeds and Newcastle, while mounting the career ladder through consistent achievement on the screen. He finally settled at Yorkshire as Controller of Drama in 1988 where he inspired a steady flow of network successes from one-off blockbusters like “Scab” to schedule bankers like “Emmerdale”, “Heartbeat” and “The Royal”. 

He was honoured with a Fellowship of the Royal Television Society in November 2004. 

Other winners included Andrew Davies who picked up Writer of the Year for the ITV drama ‘Falling’ 

This year’s RTS Yorkshire Centre programme nominations competed in eighteen categories. The awards were made at a prestigious dinner and awards’ show at the Queens Hotel, Leeds and attended by over 320 guests. 

The RTS Yorkshire Centre Programme Awards have quickly become a focus for the recognition of excellence in television production. Terry Mounsey RTS Yorkshire Centre 

‘The 2006 programme awards is a success story, not only for the Yorkshire Centre but also for the winners, for all those who entered their work, the sponsors and the many individuals, companies and organisations who have supported us. We are fortunate to have world class programme makers residing here and producing their programmes in the region which makes Yorkshire a vibrant and prodigious centre of production. We believe that events such as the annual RTS awards provide a focus for programme makers and this can only benefit the social and economic well-being of the region. The RTS will continue to promote the cause of the television industry and that of all people with an interest in television. Next year is the Society’s 80th birthday which will make the 3rd annual Programme Awards extra special.’ 

  1. Unsung Hero of the Year Lesley Gosling - BBC Yorkshire
  2. Individual Newcomer of the Year Linsey Smith -BBC Yorks & Lincs
  3. Production Indie of the Year Daisybeck Productions
  4. Innovation of the Year 'Destroyed' - Firestorm Films
  5. Graphic Artist of the Year Ian Paul Joyce - BBC Yorks & Lincs
  6. Music or Use of Music Ray Russell for 'A Touch of Frost' & 'Diamond Geezer' for ITV Productions for ITV1
  7. Picture Editor of the Year Andrew Lurcuck - True North Productions
  8. Camerawork of the Year John Anderson for BNT Productions
  9. Reporter of the Year Guy Lynn Look North BBC Yorks & Lincs
  10. Single News Feature of the Year Look North - Laurel Bank Nursing Home - BBC Yorkshire
  11. News Magazine of the Year Calendar - ITV Yorkshire
  12. Presenter of the Year Nicola Sands - ITV Yorkshire
  13. Sport Programme of the Year 'Warnock' Beaumont Prods for Sky Sports
  14. Feature Programme of the Year 'The Real Emmerdale' Cheeky Monkey Films for ITV Yorkshire
  15. Documentary of the Year 'After the War - Conquering Germany' Diverse for BBC TWO
  16. Writer of the Year Andrew Davies for 'Falling' ITV Productions for ITV1
  17. Drama of the Year 'Falling' ITV Productions for ITV1