RTS Scotland 2017 Awards Launch Event

RTS Scotland 2017 Awards Launch Event

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
April Chamberlain speaking at the RTS Scotland Awards launch (Credit: Chloe MacLeod)

RTS Scotland launched its annual awards for 2017,  announcing new category for Young Journalist of the Year presented in memory of  George Sinclair.

Chair of Judges, April Chamberlain welcomed everyone to the launch event and STV Director of Channels and RTS Scotland awards committee chair, Bobby Hain, talked to us about the awards and what they offer.

There was an opportunity for previous nominees and winners to tell us all about how it felt winning or being nominated for an RTS award and their experience of the ceremony

Margot McCauig from PurpleTV, winner of Best Sport Programme 2015 and 2016 said, “The RTS has established itself as the award ceremony people want to participate in.  it is recognized as something in the calendar that people are think to themselves, I want to be on that stage and win it.

Peter Gallagher of Leopard Drama, Children’s Program winner 2016, described the awards as, “The awards honor craft as well as overall production, and honors the elements of the production that often don’t get recognized in other awards.”

Entries for the 2017 RTS Scotland Awards can be submitted from Monday 9th January and must be received by Monday 13th February.

Extended deadline to midnight 15th February 2017.

The ceremony will take place at Òran Mór in Glasgow on 17th May 2017.


Categories and more information about the awards can be viewed in the document below.




Video created by City of Glasgow College students.

Photography Chloe MacLeod 

You are here