RTS Northern Ireland Student Awards Shortlist 2023

RTS Northern Ireland Student Awards Shortlist 2023

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Tuesday, 28th February 2023

The Royal Television Society Northern Ireland is delighted to announce the nominations for this year’s Student Television Awards, supported by Northern Ireland Screen and the Department for the Communities.

Celebrating ten years of encouraging and nurturing student talent in Northern Ireland, the RTS NI Student Awards Ceremony will be hosted by UTV on-screen journalist Sarah McKinley on Wednesday 29 March at 6.30pm in the Black Box, Belfast with the Joe McKinney memorial keynote speech delivered by Jannine Waddell, MD, Waddell Media.

Fiona Campbell, Chair of the RTS NI said: “It is hard to believe that it’s now ten years since we started these awards. So many of the young people who took part over the years are now enjoying fulfilling careers in the fast moving and vibrant Northern Ireland creative industries sector and further afield. It has been a privilege to be part of their journey and we look forward to helping many more students find their future roles in the years to come by continuing to provide a high-profile platform for students to showcase their work.”

Aidan Browne, Chair of the RTS NI Students Awards said: “These awards give us the opportunity to celebrate the exceptional creative work being created by students in all manner of screen disciplines here in Northern Ireland. The local universities and colleges are to be congratulated for the vital role they play in ensuring our future generations graduate with the skills necessary ready to start work in the screen industry.”

Bernard McCloskey, Head of Education, Northern Ireland Screen said: “Northern Ireland Screen is delighted to be able to support these awards in partnership with RTS NI. The screen industry in Northern Ireland is a key economic driver and to future proof the industry we must support and encourage a talent pipeline of skilled and experienced young people. The RTS NI awards provide the perfect opportunity to reflect on and reward local emerging creative talent who will drive the industry forward.”

UTV on-screen journalist Sarah McKinley, host of the RTS NI Student Awards 2023 says: “I'm honoured to be asked to host these awards which showcase the best of creative talent from our local colleges and universities. The local film and television sector is thriving here and I am really looking forward to seeing what the creators of the future have to offer.”

The nominees for this year’s Awards are:

Animation Category

· The Butterfly Effect: Michael Berryman - Ulster University

· Sleeper: Josh McAvoy, Eva Robinson, Sinéad Burns and Cathal Daniel Murphy – Ulster University


Drama Category

· A Hollow Tree: Cathal Fitzpatrick – Ulster University

· Homebound: Ross Power – Ulster University

· Antlers: Cathal Fitzpatrick, Ross Power, Simon Osiewicz, John Farrelly and Rebecca Monaghan – Ulster University

· Worms: Erin Mills, Jamie Murray, Nic Doyle, Ben Cheney and Grainne McGirr – Queens University Belfast

· Hear Me Out: Eva Glenn and Sophie McDaid – North West Regional College

· The Cost of Life: Daibhid McGrellis, Laura Graham, Cara McKernon and Max Graham – Belfast Met Film & Television School @ E3 Studios

· To Have No Scruples: Ronan Kerrigan, Leon Wright and Zoe Carlin – Ulster University

· Agony Amp: Zacc McGloughlin – Ulster University

· Fungi: Szymon Filip Choros, Dylan Porter, Sean O’Rourke, James Holland, and Jody Dorrian – Ulster University

· Leech: Andrew McGregor, Faye Thompson, Alan Walkingshaw, Carlo Corbetta, James Tumility and Callum Blunt – Ulster University

· Shellbomb: Emma Scott, Ross Farrell, Callum West, Callum Grant, Dylan McEnteggart and Michael O’Kane – Ulster University


Entertainment and Comedy Drama Category

· A Simpleton’s Guide to Botany: Oran Dunn – Ulster University

· Can I Get a Lift Mate?: Luke D. Galbraith, Jamie Powell, Aaron Connolly and Joe Cardwell - Belfast Met Film & Television School @ E3 Studios

· Marvel Matt: Conor Murphy, Matthew Creegan, Luke Mc Cormick, Caitlin Joyce, Jack Parkin and Noora Helin – Queens University Belfast

· Moulin Rouge pre-recorded scene: Benn Rahim-Anderson and Sophie McDaid – North West Regional College

· Snakes and Ladders: Rab Mc Phee, Matthew Ardies, Danny de Vecchis and Luke D. Galbraith - Belfast Met Film & Television School @ E3 Studios

· Millies – Episode 2: Thanks for the Memories: Mary-Rita O' Grady, Grace Hynds, Cara McKernon, Lauren McAslan, Luke Galbraith, Dáibhid McGrellis, Erin Rebecca Gregg, Emily Kennedy and Katie Ireland – Queens University Belfast

· Fried, Not Baked: Ciara McCready, Stewart Burns, Fearghal McKee, Angus McDowell and Ethan Thompson - Belfast Met Film & Television School @ E3 Studios

· Real Lads of Lockdown: Aidan Rafferty, Eve Drumm, Keelan Sexton, Gareth Rodgers,Ruairi Craig and Aaron Crilly – Ulster University


Factual Category

· Dance Your Troubles Away: Meabh Kavanagh - Ulster University

· Vintage Mellow: Christopher McSherry, Daniel Parker, Carlo Tripp, Ryan Fawcett and Sophie McVeigh - Ulster University

· The Lone Sailor: Malachy O'Hanlon – Ulster University

· Kirill: Jasper Banerjee, Alex Donaldson, James Poston and Mark McKibbin – Queens University Belfast

· Unfiltered: Alexandra Rosbotham, Daniel Shields, Ciaran Hines, Chloe McAdam and Aimee Jackson -Ulster University

· Negative Space: TJ Harvey Kelly - Northwest Regional College

· The Belfast Beaner: Conor Meharg, Ryan Murphy, Thomas Blythe, Christine McVeigh, Ethan Tohill and Ronan Young – Queens University Belfast

· Reinventing: The Children of Lir: Shannon McCarthy, Aoife Magill, Harry Simons and Kai McHugh – Queens University Belfast

· Making It Crystal Clear: Eve Adams, Natasha Boorman, Georgie Edmonds, Justė Mažikaitė and Chris White – Queens University Belfast

· Technical Difficulties: Aisling Skillen, Andrew Ballentine; Lynn Porter; Oisin McCoy and Olga Weyrich – Queens University Belfast

· The Mountains Have Wings: Andrew Reid; Catherine Goss; Niki Browne and Samira Berrabah – Queens University Belfast


The winners of these Awards go forward to the national RTS Student Media Awards in London in June and will also be invited to this year’s RTS NI Programme Awards on 1 June at City Hall where they will meet top professionals from across the local screen industries.

You are here

The Royal Television Society Northern Ireland is delighted to announce the nominations for this year’s Student Television Awards, supported by Northern Ireland Screen and the Department for the Communities.