Midlands Centre Awards nominees announced

Midlands Centre Awards nominees announced

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Thursday, 8th September 2016

The RTS Midlands Centre Committee would like to congratulate all 2016 Nominees.

Winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony at the National Motorcycle Museum in Solihull on the evening of Thursday 3rd November 2016.

If you would like to buy tickets for this event please email RTSMidlands@rts.org.uk.

Nominees by category:

Best Acting Performance           

Matt Bardock - The Coroner, BBC Birmingham

Claire Goose - The Coroner, BBC Birmingham

Owen Brenman - Doctors, BBC Birmingham

Sarah Moyle - Doctors, BBC Birmingham


Best Current Affairs Feature     

A Dangerous Place To Be A Kid - BBC Birmingham

Refugees - BBC East Midlands

Investigating Sports Direct: An Inside Out Special - BBC East Midlands Current Affairs

Noise Floor - Ferocious Dog Special - Spool Films


Best Digital Innovation / Digital Creativity  

Where you at? - Koala

#WeAreYou - Tinker Taylor/Out Of Orbit

Simon Ward - BBC East Midlands

The Graphics Hub - ITV News

Midlands Today: Jimmy Hill Tribute - BBC Birmingham

Golden Fire - Rural Media

ReelMusic - ReelLearning / Services for Education / Vyka​

Coffin Works 360° Taster Tour - Spark Media

Charlie Slater - BBC East Midlands


Best Factual Programme

Guy Martin's Wall of Death: Live - North One Television

The Real Peak Practice - BBC East Midlands

Investigating Sports Direct: An Inside Out Special - BBC East Midlands Current Affairs

The Best Bottoms in the Land - BBC Birmingham

Rugby: A Midlands Story - Iconic Productions

Travel Man: 48 hours in… - North One Television

Best Fictional Television Programme 

The Coroner - BBC Birmingham

Nico Nog / Chico Chugg (series) - Chugg Productions Ltd

Father Brown - BBC Birmingham

Doctors - BBC Birmingham

A Shark Who Swallowed The Sea - Second Home Studios 

Doctors - There is No Place - Claire Bennett (Writer)


Best New Talent 

Lucy Martin - BBC East Midlands                                                                                                                                                                                    

Richard Gullick - Big Centre TV

Kate West - BBC Birmingham

At-issue - Yamination Studios

Anita Ramdharry for Nico Nog / Chico Chugg (series) - Chugg Productions Ltd

Send Her Victorious - Rural Media 

Iain Chambers - Notts TV News


Best News Programme   

Leicester City FC Victory Parade - East Midlands Today

Midlands Today: Jimmy Hill Tribute - BBC Birmingham

Leicester Champions' Parade - ITV News Central

Midlands Today: EU Reaction - BBC Birmingham

Notts TV News - Notts TV

Premier League Champions - ITV News Central


Best On-Screen Personality      

Sameena Ali-Khan - TV News Central

Jo Healey - BBC East Midlands Today

Matt Teale - TV News Central

Geeta Pendse - BBC East Midlands Today

Frances Finn - Notts TV, Spool Productions

Guy Martin - North One Television

Colin Hazelden - BBC East Midlands Today


Best Production Craft Skills      

'We are HeForShe' at the University of Leicester - University of Leicester Creative Team

Kester Demmar - BBC East Midlands Today

Cricket has Landed 3 - Affixxius Films

Jordan McGibney - McGibney Productions

Drink Driving - Orion Media

A Shark Who Swallowed The Sea - Second Home Studios


Best Promotional Programme 

Where you at? - Koala

Hear the Roar - Affixxius Films

Black Country Living Museum - 1940s Weekend - IDM Media

POP by Mackney 'They Walk Among Us'  Commercial - YSP Media

If you see something...YHA safeguarding film - XO Digital Ltd with Boxset Media

Kayleigh's Love Story - Affixxius Films

St Basils Promotional Film - Spark Media

Nottingham: The City of Robin Hood - McGibney Productions, NFFTY​


Television Journalist of the Year         

Sarah Sturdey - BBC East Midlands Current Affairs

Jonathan Gibson - BBC Birmingham

Mark Gough - ITV News Central

Sarah Teale - BBC East Midlands Today

Hugh Casswell - Notts TV

Callum Watkinson - ITV News Central


The Diversity Award        

Cracked - Zebra Digital Ltd

Jeremy Ball - BBC East Midlands Today

Inside Out West Midlands - BBC Birmingham

Mental Health Coverage - ITV News Central

The Oldest Show on the Road - Rural Media

Sharon Walia - Notts TV

Women In Motorsport - ITV News Central

Doctors Series 18 - BBC Birmingham

You are here

The RTS Midlands Centre Committee would like to congratulate all 2016 Nominees.