And the Winner is... Scotland Student Television Awards 2020

And the Winner is... Scotland Student Television Awards 2020

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
LinkedIn icon
e-mail icon
Thursday, 6th February 2020
Awards Programme created by Rada Milanova
Awards Programme by Rada Milanova

Photography by Ben Gallacher - Glasgow Clyde College

On the 5th February the Royal Television Society’s  Scotland Centre, honoured the winners of its 2020 Student Television Awards, sponsored by STV, at a glittering ceremony held at The Everyman Cinema, Princes Square, Glasgow. The event was hosted by STV Entertainment Reporter Laura Boyd.

The RTS Student Television Awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by undergraduate students in ten categories across Animation, Comedy & Entertainment, Drama, Short Form, Factual, Production Design, Editing, Sound, Camera, and Writing.

The University of Edinburgh led the way on the night, taking home four awards, with The Royal Conservatoire of Scotland following with two wins, retaining the gong for both Drama and Writing for a second year running.

James Wilson, Chair of RTS Scotland Student Television Awards said: “Our industry depends upon the development of young people, their skill growing with their confidence under the guidance of their tutors and mentors.  This year’s programmes are as strong as ever and decisions were long argued and often very close.  Every nominated team and individual should be proud of their achievement.”

Simon Pitts, Chief Executive Officer, STV: “Scotland is brimming with exciting creative talent and STV is very proud to be sponsoring the RTS Scotland Student Television Awards again this year. As last year all the nominees will be offered a platform to showcase their fantastic programmes on the STV Player, where 4/5ths of the Scottish population are already registered users. Highlights of the awards ceremony will also be available on the STV Player and beyond that STV will be offering mentoring to the winners as they start their journey in this exciting and vibrant industry.”

All nominated and winning films will be available on STV Player from 12th February 2020:

Nominations and winners:

(2019 winners and nominee films can be found here

Programme Categories


WINNER – “Margin of Terror” – Kieran McLister (University of Edinburgh)

“Cohabitation” - Eilidh Nicoll (University of Edinburgh)

“Crust” - "Isabella Avery, James Crang, Amy Scott, Leah Bradbury, Sara Balestrieri, Matthew Errington, Andres Vasco (University of Edinburgh)


Comedy & Entertainment

WINNER – “Flit” - Jack Allen, Elías Nader, Ina Morken, Laurence Jenkins & Carey Melanie Osborne (University of Edinburgh)


“The British Border” - Kenneth Maguire, John Perivolaris, Gemma Munro, Eve Christie, Craig King, Caitlin Macintyre (Glasgow Clyde College)

“Hello Angel” - Adam Burns, Niall MacRae (City of Glasgow College)



WINNER – “Spare Parts” - Paul Barrie, Victoria Jones, Martin MacLeod, Elettra Arnell, Karo Pietilä, Astrid Hjermind and Ana Meljo (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)


“Lost Brothers” - Alex Cormack, Julia Tirkkonen, Annie Phelan, Josh Partington, Eve Manson, Kirsty Scott (University of the West of Scotland)

“We Three” - Will Peppercorn, George Harwood and Grace Dickson (University of Edinburgh)


Short Form

WINNER – “Tom Urie: Mental Health and Depression” - Cameron Thom, Ryan Price, Emma Cunningham (City of Glasgow College)


“Fighting Back” - Kieran McNairn, Wardah Bilal, Edward Hallam, Cameron Rainey, Courtney Deans, Karolina Krok (Glasgow Clyde College)

“Baby Boxes” - Niall MacRae and Adam Burns (City of Glasgow College)



WINNER – “Grime Scheme Scotland” - Daniel Greig, Julian Greenwood, Lawrence Hector, Neil Cunninghame, Jack Darrer and Kieran Colquhoun (University of the West of Scotland)


“Sisters in Song” - Catherine Mitchell, Caroline McCaw and Campbell Wallace (University of Stirling)

“Sannah Hussain - Outside Fighter” - Sannah Hussain, JoJo Murray, Zane Apsite (City of Glasgow College)

Craft Categories


WINNER – “Spare Parts” - Paul Barrie (Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)

Production Design

WINNER – “The Lost Sock” - Molly Simmons (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – “My Urban Fox Film” - Mikey Sneddon (Edinburgh Napier University)


WINNER – “The Lost Sock” - Laura Wiggett (University of Edinburgh)


WINNER – “Adam and the Alphas” – Murray Leitch (University of Stirling)




  • Mikey Sneddon- Editing - My Urban Fox FIlm
  • Molly Simmons - Production Design - The Lost Sock
  • Ryan Price and Cameron Thom - Short Form - Tom Urie: Mental Health and Depression
  • Factual Grime Scheme Scotland Daniel Greig, ID and Lawrence Hector

You are here

Photography by Ben Gallacher - Glasgow Clyde College